Click Now!

19 Countries Excluded from 2013 USA Visa Lottery

19 Countries Excluded from 2013 USA Visa Lottery

Due to an unprecedented number of applicants, 19 countries including Nigeria have been banned from taking part in the 2013 USA Visa Lottery. Information from the United States Department of State shows that Nigerians and citizens from a variety of other countries are not eligible for DV-2015.

19 Countries Excluded from 2013 USA Visa Lottery

Due to an extremely high number of applicants, nineteen countries have been excluded from taking part in this year’s lottery.

The department explained that Nigeria has been excluded as over 50,000 Nigerians have immigrated to the US over the last five years. Other countries which are not eligible include Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

However, there are many other African countries which can still participate.

Diversity visas are distributed among six geographical regions and no single country is allowed to receive more than 7% of the available space in any year.

There are already advertisements running for the 2015 US DV Lottery and several businesses are already inviting residents of the excluded countries to apply. It is expected that applications for the next lottery will begin on 1st October 2013.

OCA News Editor

With a background in game development spanning 8 years, Sam Peterson is OCA’s leading authority in the world of online gaming. His focuses include new releases and gaming providers.