Click Now!

Bayern Munich Win Telekom Cup Final

Bayern Munich Win Telekom Cup Final

Germany’s Bayern Munich has been celebrating a 5 -1 victory against Monchengladbach in the Telekom Cup final.

Bayern Munich Win Telekom Cup Final

Bayern Munich dominated over Monchengladbach to win the final 5 – 1.

The record breaking treble winning team won its first title three weeks before the Bundesliga opener when they crushed home side Monchengladbach.

While the home team had the better start as soon as Bayern Munich warmed up things changed and they scored three goals within nine minutes.

Franck Ribéry scored the opening goal and this was soon complemented with one from Philipp Lahm, the third was knocked in by new arrival Thiago Alcantara.

Monchengladbach was able to score thanks to Luuk de Jong knocking in a penalty following a foul play by Bayern’s Diego Contento inside the box. However, it wasn’t long before Bayern’s Arjen Robben and Thomas Müller both scored goals of their own to secure the victory for Bayern.

The new manager Pep Guardiola is sure to be particularly pleased as this was the team’s first trophy win since he has joined.

Meanwhile Borussia Dortmund won third place in the competition after beating Hamburg 1 – 0 thanks to a goal from Jonas Hofmann in the first half.

OCA News Editor